About Us

The Holocaust Center for Humanity's mission is to inspire teaching and learning for humanity in the schools and communities of this region through study of the Holocaust.

The Holocaust Center for Humanity teaches tolerance and citizenship through lessons of the Holocaust. Established in 1989, the Center supports teachers in the public and private schools of Washington State and in the Pacific Northwest, making it possible to introduce Holocaust studies into their curricula. The Holocaust Center for Humanity is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.


2016 Annual Report

Thank you to everyone who supported the Center in 2016!
Click the image below to view the Center's 2016 Annual Report.

Annual Report 2016 Cover


Voices for Humanity

Video produced by Don Porter, Independent Videographer


The Holocaust Center provides the following resources to educators, students, academics, authors, and public and private organizations:

The Holocaust Center's work is funded by individual donations and grants.

Contact Us


Board of Directors

President: David Alhadeff, Goldman Sachs, Vice President
Vice President: Ron Friedman, Kar Tuttle, Attorney
Vice President: Lela Franco, Harley Marina
Vice President: Rachel Nathanson, Urban Planning Consultant, Business Owner
Secretary: Naomi Newman, Staklist, VP, Content and Research
Treasurer: Lynne Smith, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Deputy Director 

Immediate Past President: Chuck Stempler, Alphagraphics
Steven Baral, Melbourne Tower, Business Owner
Shelley Bensussen, Retired Salesperson, Past Board Chair JFGS, Community Volunteer
Paul Bloom, Microsoft, Cortana Product Lead
Carolyn "Puddin" Cox, Alexander Hamilton Foundation, Founder; Social Worker
Arlene Ehrlich, Community Volunteer
Henry Friedman, Retired Business Owner, Holocaust Survivor
Pat Gallagher, Kent School District, School Administrator
Josh Gortler, The Kline Galland Center Foundation, President
Janee Hahn, Catered Printing, Business Owner
Robert Herschkowitz, Retired Boeing Structural Engineer
Reverend Barry Keating, Evergreen Medical Center, Director of Spiritual Care
Rabbi James Mirel, Temple B'nai Torah
The Honorable Mayor Edward Murray, Mayor of Seattle
Jack Schaloum, Federal Army Navy Surplus, Business Owner
Michael Spektor, Spektor Dental Center, Periodontist
Janet Turpen, Community Volunteer

Honorary Board

Cheryl Berenson, Community Volunteer
Rodney Blumenstein, Rod Asher Associates
Marc A. Boman, Perkins Coie LLP, Attorney, Partner
Peter Damm, Holocaust Survivor, Retired Business Owner
Milt Doumit, Verizon
Sandra Friedman, Community Volunteer
Eric Hasson, CPA
Stephen Herschkowitz, Senior Deputy Prosecutor, King County
Senator Ken Jacobsen, Retired Senator

Teacher Advisory Board 

Nance Adler, Jewish Day School, Bellevue
Ava Anderson, St. Thomas School, Medina
Branda Anderson, Kamiak High School, Mukilteo
Marta Cabeza, Rogers High School, Puyallup
Marianne Clarke, TOPS K-8, Seattle
Rosemary Conroy, St. Luke School, Shoreline
Melissa Dempsey, Hyla Middle School, Bainbridge Island
Liz Ebersole
Nicole Elbling, Frankel Religious School- Herzl Ner Tamid, Mercer Island
David James, Lincoln County High School, Eureka, MT
Paul Minckler, Blaine Middle School, Blaine
Heidi Pouley, Assumption St. Bridget School, Seattle
William Proser, Coeur d'Alene Charter Academy, Coeur d'Alene, ID
Debbie Robinson, Meridian Middle School, Kent
Raymond Sun, Washington State University, Pullman
Melissa Tatum, Showalter Middle School, Tukwila 

Join the Holocaust Center email List!

* Required

Constant Contact SafeSubscribe
 For Email Newsletters you can trust